00 Rev3 250 Help Please

tinez

Hi ! im a complete novice when it comes to anything with an engine. could somebody please tell me a step by step guide to cleaning the air filter ? it hasnt been done since i bought the bike in august last year. it has only been ridden 5 times max and i only potter around while my friend races moto-x, nothing major at all. I am a fully qualified cycle mechanic but have no idea about my baby beta ?

Hi ! im a complete novice when it comes to anything with an engine. could somebody please tell me a step by step guide to cleaning the air filter ? it hasnt been done since i bought the bike in august last year. it has only been ridden 5 times max and i only potter around while my friend races moto-x, nothing major at all. I am a fully qualified cycle mechanic but have no idea about my baby beta ?

I take it you know where the air filter is ? Basically take it out i put loads of washing up liquid in/on it and wash it really well with a little luke warm water then rinse it out with luke warm water (If the water is hot it may shrink the filter) once you are happy that it is nice and clean let it dry out naturally. then get some air filter oil/spray and apply, I do this in a plastic bag and massage it in well. I do this everytime i have been out on the bike. Hope this helps a little. :D

On the 2000 bike I don't think there is a flap in the back mudguard to make it easier to get at the air filter, so what you'll need to do is (preferably when the bike is reasonably clean);

1. Take the rear mudguard off by undoing the screws holding it on.

2. Undo Wipe any muck off from around the filter, and pick any silicone off the airbox or mudguard.

3. Undo the two screws which hold the plastic frame over the top of the filter, then the filter should just pull out the to of the airbox.