2007 Rev3 270 Carb Issues....

NAD1

Hi

First time for me on these forums and soon to be first time for me on a Beta after 12+ years on a Gasser

I have been a Gas Gas rider since 1995 and always loved them, however with maintenance time becoming scarce I have decided to move to the less time/maintenance intensive Beta.

Having ridden a 250cc and a 270cc I have ordered a 270cc, primarily as it appears to offer more low down grunt and grip (please correct me if I am wrong on this!)

I have heard people discussing the carb issues on the Rev3's and am now wondering

a) exactly what the issues are??

and

B) what I need to ensure is done to the carb before I collect my shiny new bike??

I have spoken with the dealer when ordering the bike and they say that it 'should' all be OK with the bike and the carb, however as a total newbie to Beta issues I want to make sure I know what needs doing so I can go back to the dealer and advise them what I want done.

I dont have a problem with buying some new bits (someone mentioned a larger float bowl) but obviously am wanting to ensure that the bike is 100% when I first ride a trial.

Thanks

• Replies 32
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

didnt think i had a problem with my beta until i did a 10 mile lap on a trial and it was dry after the first lap.

i checked the float heights and they were spot on i adjusted the needle valve to the 1/16 movement as suggested (mine had about 5mm!) and i did the carb mod. it seemed wrong to be drilling crabs but the job was easy enough and took about an hour all in (i left the epoxy for 24 hours before adding petrol)

ran the bike at the weekend and i had almost 2 and a half hours continuos running before i ran out of gas.

easy cheap quick solution who could ask for more..

I bought a brand new beta last year after gas gas .

love the bike but hated the carb problems, have had all the bits done, runs great but still wont start facing down hill and is a pain.