Knocking Sound

grahambaskin

Hi guys,

i have a beta rev 3 2007. i'm only a novice rider its my second bike, i love the bike to ride but i feel a little disapointed with it because its seems to be one problem after another. first it was the carb, that seems to have stoped but now i hear a knocking sound when giving the bike throttle, only when moving in the like of fourth gear, not any lower. when i wheelie it knocks but when im only playing about in low gears its fine, but as i said in the higher gear it knocks CAN SOMEONE GIVE ME SOME GOOD NEWS PLEASE.

Agreed, higher octane gas. Even though the throttle setting is the same in the higher gears you are putting a heavier load on the engine and that can cause detonation to be much more prevalent. Also realize pump gas is notoriously inconsistent. Even premium fuels like Sunoco Ultra which I used to run until I got a few bad batches. A car is so mildly tuned it'll just suck it up and run lousy but a trials bike tuned to within a gnats *** will let you know immediately when you've got a bad batch. See if you can get your hands on some race gas. It won't make any more power but it will dramatically reduce the occurrence of detonation and it's consistent batch to batch.

Use super unleaded only 100% and 70mls of TTS in 5 litres of fuel, it might also be possible the knocking is actually lack of fuel especially if it happens up hills or whilst doing wheelies, if the high octane doesnt make any difference (still keep using it though) the carb might be running out of fuel whilst pointing up hill etc, there is a float extension for the Rev 3 which holds more fuel in the bowl or your float height may be set wrong. Could always get a 4rt and forget about all those carb problems altogether though :banana2:

Edited by The Addict