Map Switch

postmanpat

• Replies 30
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Hi,i'm new to Gasgas,i've an'04 250 Pro......looking at the wiring diagram,there seems to be a switch to change the ignition curve,my bike hasn't one,is it supposed to? :guinness:

I don't think your bike came with one (unless it was the 04' Raga model, but I think that came with a Ducati programmable type using an EPROM, not a dual-map, and needed a hookup and laptop). From what I remember, it started with the 05' models (most of the next years changes are released the prior year on the Ragas) and over here the dual-map ignition system (Ducati, I think the first year) was two wires under the front of the tank (orange-black). Plugged in was the slow curve and disconnected was the fast curve (the mapping curves, as I was told, are the same up to about 2500 RPM, and then the "fast" curve advances quicker, which is why most riders can't tell the difference, riding at lower RPMs).

The 06' models came with a handlebar mounted switch and the 05's can work the same just by adding the 06' switch.

Jon

i have got a 2009 125 gasgas,will mine have this mapping switch?on my handlebars there are two switches one controls the lights and the other one appears to do nothing could this be the mapping switch?

Ya know, I'm not sure if the 125's have it. It will be a dark housing in most cases, with a red buttoned rocker type switch with a symbol for a sun and a raincloud in most cases. Sun=fast curve, cloud=slower curve.

Jon

what does the different mapping settings acctualy do?