Riding In Mud.

philswiv

Hi Folks,

the place where I ride is very muddy at the moment. I, as an off road novice, find the mud very disconcerting. Is there a technique for dealing with mud?

Am I doing it right by just (trying) to relax my grip and just constantly correcting the steering as it slews left to right?

I tend to let the speed drop right off but I've read about crossers and Paris-Dakar types going faster in these situations to dig in the rear and lift the front out but I have a mental block about trying this particular technique.

What sort of tyre pressures should I be running? Bear in mind that I'm just learning/trying and not competing.

That lot should keep you busy :( .

Cheers, Swiv.

Re: Riding in Mud

Some tips for riding in mud. Most if this just an extension of good technique for any conditions:

- if you want to turn right, or climb a slope with a camber which is high on the right, put your weight on the left footrest, and vice versa.

- treat the throttle as if you're tightening a clamp on your vital parts, i.e. be extremely gentle with movements of the twistgrip. If you think you're being careful with the throttle now you probably need to apply twice as much finesse to get it right.

- practice riding a gear higher than you might think is right. This can help with grip but you need to get used to handling the high gear in the "nadgery" bits of the section.

Textbooks will tell you to run tyres with 6psi front and 4psi rear at the most. In practice you can mostly get away with less than this in the rear, which will improve grip further. It's amazing how many riders run too-hard tyres (look at the lack of bulge in the sidewalls when they're on the bike). The same people tend to slew sideways on greasy cambers.

I love riding in mud, tis wonderfull stuff. Always good to get to like it, as it gives you an advantage over the guy who doesn't like it.