Oset not working

trix

Hi, got the oset out the other day, its been sat in the shed for 6 month and its been really cold here in the UK, tried charging them and the green light comes on to say there done after a few mins, took both batteries out and stuck them on my optimate 4 one by one for around 12 hours each and still nothing, no lights, no click of the relay, nothing, checked all the wiring too.

The batteries are 4 year old so they could do with been replaced anyway but just want to make sure there dead and its not something else, so any tests I can do on the batteries with the multimeter ? I've never used it before.

• Replies 48
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

They are quite robust animals but it sounds like they have been sat discharged for too long. I'd contact a nearby dealer and see if they can help. TrialsUK are one of the biggest but OSET have dealers throughout the Country.

Hi, got the oset out the other day, its been sat in the shed for 6 month and its been really cold here in the UK, tried charging them and the green light comes on to say there done after a few mins, took both batteries out and stuck them on my optimate 4 one by one for around 12 hours each and still nothing, no lights, no click of the relay, nothing, checked all the wiring too.

The batteries are 4 year old so they could do with been replaced anyway but just want to make sure there dead and its not something else, so any tests I can do on the batteries with the multimeter ? I've never used it before.

Battery shops will usually do a discharge test for free. They apply a standard load and measure the voltage with the load applied. You could probably make something using a load like both filaments of a 12V car headlight and measure the voltage across the battery under that load. If it sags much below 12V it is a fail. It should be about 13.5 volts with no load on a charged 12V SLA battery which is what comes standard in an OSET.