Can Someone Talk Me Through The Process

lacey9

Ok, so I've come from an AMCA Motocross background so the process was I joined my nearest club, Joined the AMCA, got my licence. Attended club nights once a week and booked in for available meetings within my group, paid the club chairman, I'd get my confirmation slip in the post that week. Roll up at 7.30 on a Sunday Morning, hand over my slip at the gate, Gear up etc. Practice, 3 races, go home in pain and soak in the tub for a few hours.

As a complete novice to Trials I just wondered of someone could guide me through the process involved in competing in a club trial. I'm not an AMCA member anymore but am willing to re-join if that will give a wider scope of meetings available. Is most booking online/telephone or turn up on the day and book in?

What should I expect on competition day? Track walk etc?

I'm based in the northants area? Anywhere I should be looking for localish regs?

Basically I don't want to make a complete fool of myself on my first trial or get in anybodies way and spoil their day.

• Like 1

Most clubs are ACU so you most likely can enter a trial and ask for a ACU application number form the club then apply online. Dont worry about making a fool of yourself 98% of us do it all the time, i have ridden for years yet still make an ass of me self now and again, its not like motorcross full of up them own asses people. Just try we all like a have ago harry.

Download an acu application form, turn up at a meeting, fill in an entry form and a membership form, pay your money get a unique code. warm yourself and your bike up walk and look at the first section and watch a few other riders go through the section, ride it yourself if you aren't sure about anything ask, yet to find someone who dosen't want to help move onto the next section have fun and enjoy it. end of the trial go home wash bike wait for results

You will probably be surprised how laid back trials are if you have done amca mx.