If It Ain't Broke....?

jonny042

All this talk about no-stop vs stop 'n hop, got me thinking.,,,

I'm relatively new to trials, have only been riding 5 years, but I am thoroughly addicted to it... I've been travelling around to whatever national (US) events I can get to, and I always have a ball. I love the community, have made lots of great friends, and the competition is friendly and supportive.

I come from a car racing background. I was a winner. Consequently people didn't like me until they bothered to get to know me. I was labelled a cheater, etc. - same old story. It was technically challenging and I still enjoy racing when I can but it's no longer my "life". Trials is.

So I don't really have a historic perspective, I have never known anyone other than Pat or Cody as champion! Which leads me to wonder, is Trials really broken? Does it need saving?

I checked the national results for 1999 in the US - there were 238 different riders in the various classes, in 11 rounds.. In 2012, there were 221 riders for 10 rounds. ....During a recession.

I have no idea about bike sales, but it seems to me there are bikes being sold. Maybe not in great numbers, but you can buy: Gas Gas, Sherco, Beta, Scorpa, Ossa, Jtg, that seems pretty vibrant.

Lucky us!

Please discuss..... does Trials need saving? From what?

I've been at this a long time Johhny. It's broken.

Imagine a promo video for the sport of trials.

Opening scene: a rider enters a section pulls in the clutch, puts a foot on the ground and stays in place for 1 minute 29 seconds.

The commentator begins

" This is the exciting sport of Moto Trial. One of the most fun and challenging two wheeled sports on the planet. The rider you see is a master of balance and technique. He is being scored by an observer and so far his score is only ONE point. It is a near perfect ride so far, only one point above the best possible score of zero. "