Beginner Techniques - Where To Start

Hi,

I've read a lot of posts here and elsewhere and watched a few videos, I'm now a bit confused as to what to practise first and looking for advice.

I've been riding bikes for around 22 years but I've only had 2 1/2 hours on a trial bike last night at Warden Law. It's clear that I need to pick up a few basic skills before I've got any hope of clearing any obsticles.

I spent a bit of time just getting used to being off road again and to the bike but I still find the power delivery, lack of bike between the knees, the feel of the clutch and the size and feel of the back brake all a bit odd.

I practised lifting the front wheel, 10 foot barely in control wheelies weren't much of a problem but they also aren't very useful and well timed short lifts are currently beyond me.

I made some progress on short steep hill climbs, but descents were badly controlled.

Also made some progress riding along planks at walking pace.

I ache all over the place today, particularly my hands where I have tendon and joint problems.

Any advice before my next practise?

Cheers

Allan

Isn't it awesome learning a new style, I love it (I'm only a couple years into trials)

To a certain extent you just need to spend some time getting used to how the bike feels and getting over the awkwardness

But practice leaning the bike into turns and keeping your body weight over the bike, low speed first gear figure 8s are something you have to do, put a few rocks down so you have turning points

Practice riding as straight as possible while maintaining your balance at all times, bad habits from other bikes will have you using the steering to maintain balance but you have to break that

Knees out, feet wide is important another bad habit to break of knee hugging the bike

It's the learning that really attracted me to trials.