Restoring My C15T?

bazbro

Hi,

I've inherited my late Dad's '60 C15T and, despite not riding Trials (but a motorcyclist for over 50 years), I intend to restore it.

I'm not clear yet quite how to go about it, what my priorities are or should be, and... I am NOT a mechanic! But I know my limitations and I don't intend to sod the 'bike up through ignorance. I'm going to convert it to 12v and fit Boyer Bransden electronic ignition (it was a bugger for my poor old Dad to start!) as I'm OK on electrics - I fitted a Boyer Bransden to a Sammy Miller Trials Cub I once owned. Then I need someone good to completely rebuild the engine (with the desirable mods) - someone good and not someone who just thinks they're good!! I've considered SRM (expensive) but not yet had a reply to the email I sent them.

I'm unsure whether to then run it for a while in tatty condition with the good engine, or jump in with both feet, completely strip it down, powder-coat, polish, rechrome and repaint everything and then put it back again (a bit daunting for me, I confess). And none of this can start until September anyway when I have an empty garage to work in. So plenty of time to plan!

I'm happy to take advice and recommendations from anywhere and anyone! This is all new for me - a classic Trials bike and a restoration too.

Thanks and best wishes,

Barry

post-18628-0-50863300-1372846107_thumb.jpg

post-18628-0-14247600-1372846141_thumb.jpg

Just fit electronic ignition, a bike that does not start or run properly is not worth the hassle, replace any worn bits in the carb, check & replace cables as reqd, strip & reassemble the brakes to see if the linings are still good & secured to the shoes, replace tyres if they are old and had it then wipe over with an oily rag, job done.

Edited by trialsrfun
  • Like 1