4Rt No Rear Grip ..... Just A Myth?

wayne509

Really do quite fancy a 2014 4RT but folk keep informing me they have no grip in the mud. Is this just a myth? Half of them probably haven't ridden one. Is the new bike better than the old bike?

Really is an important factor as up here in Scotland riding conditions are often boggy and muddy.

I went from a SR 280 Scorpa which I loved to a Tr280 Ossa. The ossa is a great bike but just feels too light in the front end for me. I am not an expert rider and just really do the clubman route so don't really need the lightest most flickable bike out there and prefer the more stable feel of the scorpa ( even though it was more tiring )

I rode a 2008 4rt last week and it was great and have someone willing to give me a play on his 14 bike but it is dryer here now so would appreciate any honest opinions on rear grip.

Perhaps I should also mention I am almost 18st :D so if body weight helps I'm sorted

Edited by wayne509

I think the myth is exaggerated . I've ridden up muddy climbs where others got stuck or only made it half way. It could have been my lucky day or my technique was spot on for once.

Anyway, as usual the bike isn't the largest deciding factor, the rider is.

Check out these guys on their 4RT's:

http://www.trialscentral.com/forums/topic/50567-kinki-champions-tomoyuki-ogawa-player-2014-all-japan-tournament-trial/

• Like 1

If you clutch it, a lot and give it too many revs like a 2 stroke - I find it spins out and hard to regain the traction

I'm trying a different approach now and I have slowed the bike by gearing it right down to a 9/42 and i just leave the clutch alone and ride it like the old twinshock days,no touching the clutch

Dunno if it works, but I find it better

• Like 1