Another General Tech ?

axulsuv

As some of you know , I've been searching for a cyl. head to surge tank coolant hose for my 97 section for what seems forever ... Now after measuring the fittings I see I can make the hose out of small straight pieces of hose and some elbows ... My only worry is will I run into a corrosion issue between the Magnesium case's and copper fittings ? Or should I use some temperature / pressure suitable high quality pvc fittings ? I'm wondering about dissimilar metals reacting to each other .

Does anybody have any insight ?

Glenn

not a metallurgist but as long as the metal pieces don't touch each other. not sure, i didn't find anything when i did internet search. is it possible to find aluminum fittings? or make fittings out of straight and weld to the proper angle?

good luck

rob

I'm not an expert in the field but can provide some info after playing in boats for 30 yrs!

The more anodic (an anode) a metal is the more it sacrifices itself to a cathodic metal (cathode). Cathodes tend not to corrode but will. The classic case is aluminium sacrificing itself to stainless steel fasteners in an aluminium boat.

The metal don't have to be touching for anode/cathode reaction, just have a liquid between them as is done on testing (flowing seawater).

Magnesium is one the most anodic metals known (corrodes well if not protected). So if it is placed in proximity to differing types of metals it will be very anodic to less anodic depending on the metal type near it. I suggest you have a peek at a noble metal scale and see the the metals as far away in the scale from magnesium as you can. Things like stainless 316 are far away but even stainless has an issue when removing oxygen from contact with its surface (it corrodes as well albeit slower).