Beta Rev 3

burns1989

Hi all im new to this game from just coming from mx to do trials for the winter . Any way I have bought a 2006 rev 3 250 and was wondering what the rear suspension is like as it's got a direct link from the shock to frame . Is this not as beneficial as a linkage set up . As in some ways it is just a twin shock but a single shock . I'm picking the bike up next weekend. How often is the air filter cleaned and gear box oil changed as a mx bike its a fresh air filter every race meeting and 3 races before gear box oil change . As well how often is a engine rebuild needed as running such a lean oil mixture must starve the engine of lubracation causing faster engine wear . Pleas corect me id I have anything wrong thanks ian from the uk

Edited by burns1989

Hi, I've got a 200 of the same year. Haven't noticed a problem with the rear suspension. Air filter ideally cleaned after every ride. I'm planning on changing the gear box oil at least once a month, or after 2 trials- which ever comes first. Don't make the same mistake I did, check to see if the waterpump housing is magnesium, if so it is prone to corroding and coolant can get into the gearbox oil. Beta clutches can stick from cold too, but there is a mod on the forum that can greatly help. Mikuni carbs can cause issues for some people (fuel leaking, not starting downhill etc.) All worthwhile things to check out before you buy :) otherwise, betas are good bikes, I'm no expert but I hope this helps.