Lower Shock Bush / Bearing

cord

Anybody got a better alternative to the stock lower shock bearing on a 2013 2.9? Mine is rusty/cracked/generally fit for the bin after just 10 months??? And at £52 for replacement http://trialstribulations.net/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=34_66&products_id=654 i was hoping it would have lasted longer.

I've already made my own bushings and pins for the dogbones, and was wondering where else i can improve. I know it doesn't need a spherical bearing, there should only be rotational movement. What has anybody else done?

I have a 2011 2.9 and my lower shock bearing needs to be replaced, too. I've never done the job before.

I found this. Has anybody tried this brand for this application?

http://www.allballsracing.com/29-5065.html

The kit doesn't include the spacers, so I assume they can be reused without issue.

I've used All Balls Racing products on trail bikes before and don't recall any particular problems.

I use the complete linkage kit in my Jarvis rep & a couple of the other local guys do on my recommendation but I haven't used the spherical bearing due to having a TRP shock in it, I just used the standard spacers. The spacers can be hard to get out but should be a fairly easy fit into the bearing

• 2 weeks later...

Cheapest i found was this on eBay. http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Sherco-TRIALS-2-9-2011-Lower-Rear-Shock-Bearing-and-Seal-kit-/141296887231?pt=UK_Motorcycle_Parts_13&hash=item20e5f365bf#ht_1568wt_1190

I'm using it for now, but if it wears quickly (as i suspect it will as a spherical bearing isn't really the correct application) I'll be making a pin and bush arrangement like i have for the dog bones.

I replaced the lower shock bearing on my 2006 290 and it was a major pain.

The bushes were stuck in so tight (possibly due to corrosion, or a mismatch of materials) that it took a massive amount of force to remove the old bearing.