Trial Motorcycle, Best Engine

alyrian

Hello all,

I´m a student doing a trial motorcycle research. But as I have little to no knowledge about trial motors I´d like to ask you a simple question. Which engine do you prefer? By this I mean from which manufacturer and why. Also if you have any other advice about what you prefer in your motors it would help me a lot. I hope I´m not causing you any problems and hope you will be able to help me in my project.

Regards, Ivan Vicevic

If you are talking about a purpose built engine design it would be Fantic. They had the first quick revving motor. The trials oriented engineering with the shift shaft high out of the way (Why no other manufacturer has done this is beyond me) and the friendly forward kicking.

• Like 1

Ivan, my bike is best, and it really is because its the one that suits me. Others lick dick of 2 who sometimes posts on here do not like it.

the fact its taken 14 goes to get it right is as much down to annual development as much as bad choices on my part. If next years vertigo is better for me then thats the best bike next year.

• Like 1

Gas Gas pro engine set a new benchmark in weight and compact design when launched, which other recent manufacturers seem to have mimicked to a degree. But the Gas Gas engine/gearbox is prone to failure possibly by shaving so close to the limit of material strength.

Borderline troll??? MMMmmmmmmm!

If troll... the best motor is the one Tony Bou uses... Lampkin is a legend in my eyes as well... maybe its his engine? Now I'm perplexed!

If not a troll... Plain and simple the best motor is one you can exert fine control over! I'm boss of my motors... I say rev, you rev muvver!

Mags

Hi Ivan, So you are studying Logistics - How is a trial motorcycle of interest ?

No, he is studying Logic! As in why does the common punter think he needs the lightest quickest most maintenance intensive out there to go throw at rocks!

• Like 4