Fuelling Problem Or Something Else?

nordy

Hi all,

Have recently bought a 2012 290st, seemed to run ok when i looked at it. Got home and as you do gave it a service, i noticed that the fuel mixture screw was only half a turn out from stop,i adjusted out to 1 1/2 turns, bike would'nt idle properly revs would hang then drop and it would pink when under load. Thought it might be crankseals soo replaced them, still the same, stripped carb soaked it in carb cleaner, blew out all the channels set float height as splatshop , sealed inlet manifold reed block , bike still runs rough unless i turn mixture screw to 1/2 out, then it runs nice. The carb runs with 125main 45 pilot and second clip from bottom, am abit puzzled by this one anyone any ideas. Cheers

Hi Nordy,

I'm no expert but will start the ball rolling for you. Your own explanation shows you have addressed everything likely to cause the problem other than jetting. If the bike is sweet in the middle and top of the rev range under load you can change your 45 pilot jet for a 48. The screw I believe is an air screw that richens the mixture when turned in and weakens it when turned anticlockwise. If you fit a 48 the screw will probably need to be weakened (turned back). I wouldn't worry about it being a half turn of the seat if the bike runs fine. The screw position has an inverse relationship with pilot jet size as I understand it. The jet sets 80% of the fuelling characteristics and the screw fine tunes the other 20% if that makes sense. the ratio of screw influence is determined by size of pilot jet.

Hope this helps.

I was allways told the preferred airscrew settings on the Kiehin were between .5 and 1.5 turns out. As most of us are in the cooler time of year(higher air density), the .5 seting is not out of the question in my book if it runs fine, however you may experiment with the larger pilot jet.