Fit A Battery?

chrisa

Hi

Just a question about my 4 RT. I just know it needs a few kicks because there is no battery fitted. I'm an ex Jedi after all...I know this.

I've searched but can't find anything regarding the rights and wrongs of fitting a batty to the bike. Want to run up the FI prior to kicking. There are a few options these days that are super compact, so I wondered if any of you have done this as a mod? Any electrical issues if plumbing into the generator output?

The bonus would be that I could run some lights off it as I keep getting caught out early eves.

Thanks. Chris.

Hi.

I guess it's a strange question. This bike is a replacement for the KTM which I've been using for the last 3 years trail riding. I feel in part that I've wasted the last 3 years trying to do what the 4RT excels at. The bike has a small seat and a tall 5th gear as you know, so you can sit (kind of) at 50 mph easily between lanes. It's quieter than the 350 KTM and you can take it places I definitely wouldn't have gone before. I love the technical stuff and the 4RT excels in it, even with me as pilot. Here ends the comprehensive review of why you should ditch your KTM and buy one of these if you like technical terrain and laning but don't see yourself at, ahem...nearly 50, and learning to leap up and down 2m Rock faces.

This is a long way of saying that I could do with some half decent road lights, hence the battery, and wondered if the battery might usefully be put to powering the engine management/fuel injection instead of kicking the bike a few times to power it all up from the generator, so to speak.

If nobody has done this that's fine. Just wondering.