Sherco Gearbox Oil - On Off Clutch

transporter1969

Firstly, I know this topic must have been discussed before but I've read so much I'm just confused.

I'm new to trials and in fact to riding motor bikes but have recently bought an 03 Sherco 290, so I can get out with my two young lads.

My issue is that the clutch is very much on or off - very little slip or smoothness. This takes some getting used to and I find it very jerky in a tight section. What type of oil should I try to improve this? I thought I would give that a go before stripping the clutch and doing the mods I have seen elsewhere.

Other than that the clutch drags a little but doesn't seem to stick when cold (although I do ram the front wheel up against something at first start).

Sorry if this is a simple question but a simple name of oil so I can go online and order would be a great help.

Cheers all

I've got the same bike.

I use standard cheap I 10W40 oil in mine and change it every other trial.

Chances are that the clutch basket is stepped, which makes the clutch very notchy and jerky.

You can file it down to make it better, but it's only a short term fix.

10w40 oil is too thick for a Sherco gearbox.  Putoline GP10 is probably the best gearbox oil to use in a Sherco.  However, I now use ATF fluid and that works nearly as well, but is a fraction of the cost.

Also, look at the clutch thread that is pinned to the top of the Beta posts.

Edited by stpauls

Hi, been there done that, l found two things whilst fixing my same problem.

1- The clutch work as mentioned made for a clutch that was a joy to use

2- ATF made my clutch too quick. That might be like what you are experiencing now, maybe?

Cheers Taff

Try adding a washer on the end of each clutch spring post ( the part that comes through each clutch spring there are 6 springs and six posts.)

I'm trying to remember if it's either a 5 or 6mm hole and the washer should be 1-1.5mm thick.