325 gear oil

evo boy

Hello all. I'm new to twinshocks and need some help. I have a Bultaco 325 which I think is a 1978. I'm going to change the clutch and change the oils. I've been told there is a clutch/primary oil and then a gearbox oil? Could anyone tell me what oil to use in both and how much it takes.

Many thanks 

Gearbox is 600cc of light gear oil such as Silkolene light or other brand equivalent

If the clutch is original then the plates are all steel so you can use Auto Transmission Fluid.  If the friction plates have been replaced with fibre plates then you can use ATF or light gear oil  -  300cc.  If you don't know whether the plates have been replaced just use ATF as it will work with either

6 hours ago, woody said:

Gearbox is 600cc of light gear oil such as Silkolene light or other brand equivalent

If the clutch is original then the plates are all steel so you can use Auto Transmission Fluid.  If the friction plates have been replaced with fibre plates then you can use ATF or light gear oil  -  300cc.  If you don't know whether the plates have been replaced just use ATF as it will work with either

Thanks Woody thats Great. I'm changing the clutch to a Fibre plate one because I was told you get better feel as I'm struggling if I have to touch it. Would you know what the clutch is like to change? I've done road bike ones.

Many thanks

2 hours ago, evo boy said:

Thanks Woody thats Great. I'm changing the clutch to a Fibre plate one because I was told you get better feel as I'm struggling if I have to touch it. Would you know what the clutch is like to change? I've done road bike ones.

Many thanks