mlcjot

New member, bought an old Sherco

Hi folks,

Picked up a 2000 Sherco 290 this evening for a very fair price. I have a Husaberg FE550 for green laning and light enduro, but now it's time to actually learn some skills!

The Sherco runs reasonably well but has a couple of things that need addressing. One thing I'm wondering about is the revs hanging when I blip the throttle. There's so much conflicting advice online about this but the general consensus seems to be that it indicates a lean condition. I assume this means a lean air/fuel mixture, rather than a lean oil/petrol mixture? I'm new to 2 strokes :) With a bit of luck this can be addressed with the carb, and doesn't mean I've got leaky crank seals :( I am going to play with the fuel screw and idle screw to see if they make any difference.

Video here: https://photos.app.goo.gl/yPfrfujwktA5LjQY7

Apart from that, I'm pretty happy. The bike is a beater, but that suits me just fine.

Cheers,
Alex

Welcome and well done.

Crank. seals not a big job anyway. If you say “hanging” - do you mean hesitating?  Rather than jump straight in , and play around with the jets and stuff - assume for now that they are ok. Work your way through the fuelling first. Breather pipe , tank (rust?) , fuel down-pipe, tap , filter , fuel pump and carb-connection. If all those are ok - then move on to the electrical system , and disconnect all the plugs and use contact-cleaner in them. Look for loose wires etc.  Check the spark plug condition. That will certainly show if you are lean.  All that should take you a long way on a “beater”.   You will have looked at the airbox of course , and the filter-condition. At least wash it and re-oil whilst you’re there.     I’m not one for squirting loads of carb-cleaner in airboxes. So the next step would be pulling the carb and cleaning it on your bench - and that’s where I bow out and let someone else advise you. 

Oh , edit - You might simply need some fresh fuel in there.

Edited by Nebulous