shutting engine off in emergency

1956mga

Folks,

Apologies if this has been dealt with before but I'm new to trials. My 10 year old son and 14yr old nephew are riding beta's in junior divisions at the moment. We've had a few instances of bikes getting stuck on full revs ( for a number of reasons, (dropping,caught cables etc.)On a few occasions the engine kill button doesn't work ( I presume because the engine is so hot at that stage. Can anybody tell me what is the best method of stopping the engine when this happens ?

Some suggestions we've heard are "turn the bike upside down", "Rip the carb off asap" or "block the exhaust with your hand and choke the engine"

Any help would be appreciated,

Thanks

• Replies 38
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Do not touch the plug cap at any point, never mind full revs. You'll get a massive shock.

And do not pull the Fuel line off, you'll probably be ingulfed by a nice big Ball of flames.

Kill switches don't really work at full revs, because the bike creates it's own spark to run off, and the switch dosen't cancel it out.

( Thats a basic description )

Best way is stick your hand over the exhaust and choke the engine.

Or if it's in gear and revving, tap the back brake to stall it.

but choking is favoured method!.

Edited by hrc_monty

Do not touch the plug cap at any point, never mind full revs. You'll get a massive shock.

And do not pull the Fuel line off, you'll probably be ingulfed by a nice big Ball of flames.

Kill switches don't really work at full revs, because the bike creates it's own spark to run off, and the switch dosen't cancel it out.

( Thats a basic description )

Best way is stick your hand over the exhaust and choke the engine.

Or if it's in gear and revving, tap the back brake to stall it.

but choking is favoured method!.

Where's your sense of adventure? :bouncy:

These will work but which one to use depends on circumstances