Ajs In Trials

laird387

Hi,

I chose this image because it illustrates, for me, various aspects of 'the way it was'!

It was taken in April 1960 at the Gloucester and Cotswolds club's Hurran trial near Littledean. The rider on his rigid AJS is Don Warner who, along with his brother Bert, was a member of the Dursley club.

As a photographer I have to admire the man behind the lens, Bill Cole, for the way he managed to capture the very steepness of the section - usually the camera tends to flatten the view!

Enjoy.

post-19290-0-32759700-1389858134_thumb.jpg

• Like 6

Hi,

Another AJS in action this time it's Gordon McLaughlan on the works 401cc AJS in the 1964 SSDT.

This format of works Ajay was first seen during February 1963, at the Victory Trial.

Experimenting with his, otherwise more or less standard, longstroke engine bored over-size to 74mm (plus ten thou) and fitted with a first over-size piston from the road-going shortstroke ‘Sceptre’/‘Mercury’ range. This gave a heavy flywheel and 93mm long stroke configuration of 401cc rather than 348cc capacity, this set up in itself proved more than good enough to win the 500cc Cup on its very first time out.

Later experiments developed this theme further, for instance by using the 7R road racer’s 75.5mm piston, but the price paid for that was inferior combustion due to the piston crown shape being less compatible with a trials cylinder head.

The ‘Sceptre’ type piston soon proved itself to be the best all round option, arguably very much better than a full 500cc job or the still later Norton oil pump engines. This set up also leaves enough metal in the standard long stroke cylinder for further re-bores.

Enjoy.

post-19290-0-09673900-1389865148_thumb.jpg

• Like 1

Hi,

Another shot of Gordon McLaughlan's works Ajay, seen this time in its final format for the 1965 SSDT, at the Shell van, getting his free lubrication service.