Zap clutch timing video

bikerpet

This is something I looked for when I was starting to learn zaps - I couldn't find anything. So now I can make some approximation of a zap I thought I'd have a go at syncing a closeup of the clutch with video of the maneuver.

I'm no expert, that's for sure, but I think this gives some idea of when the clutch pop occurs. When I started I think I was always too early popping the clutch and the wheel just drove forward without getting much lift. Still lots to work on, watching this video has already given me a couple of things I want to try to correct.

Timing is the hardest thing to get just right I find - it's not so hard to get the movements kind of working but it takes soooo long to get the coordination right - especially when you don't really know quite what you're aiming for!

Zap clutch timing

Any suggestions for improvement also happily received!

• Like 2

That's really useful, thanks. I too have struggled to get any decent information on the zap. I can't do them very well at all.

In addition to the clutch timing, I think your video also shows something equally important, which is you getting off the throttle - I think that's the bit I struggle with. 

Great to hear it's of help! I only wish I had some other skills worthy of videoing.

I played around with setting the clutch cam to also show the throttle better but couldn't make it really work.

Getting off the throttle is definitely something I found important. I think the difficulty for most of us learning is that it's a bit challenging to wind up the revs before dropping the clutch, so we do a half hearted blend of throttle and clutch at almost the same time. My experience is that it just doesn't work. With throttle on the back wheel just sticks to the ground.

Jimmy Ertzer's videos are really worth a watch, he's got some good progressive skill building exercises.

• Like 1

20 hours ago, markparrish said: