2014 Bumpy Club Championship Round 1

The sleepy hollow that is Howden Clough near LJordBumpeeds is where Bumpy Trials are always held and last Saturday was the first round of the Club Championship where 30 riders of all ages and abilities rode 8 sections 5 times in glorious sunshine.

Julian Ford, Nigel Land and Nick Hammerton laid out the tests with a view to the possibility of rain but thankfully it stayed away, some mud was evident though, most of it on Mr Moore's riding kit after an over handlebars tumble on Section 8!

The first group were on the slippery banks round trees with muddy ditches to cross which caught out even expert Jotagas pilot Chris Hunt sporting his Breakfast of Champions T shirt - least said the better, I think!  Mick Smith out on his trusty Sherco racked up the points on the Hard Route scoring heavily on Mr PJ1's section 7 to finish third on 42, Jake Walker taking second spot on the same figure but with two more cleans.  Jordan Ashington had a ride to forget, not quite into a three digit tally, he just couldn't get it together on the day.

Caroline WardMargret Spencer looked over the first stream section, steep descent over the flow, over clay banking and round trees, the end atop and even steeper ascent meant lots of right hand twisting on all courses.  No dangerous rock tests were marked out today, in case of rain, so a grassy knowl section was number 6 keenly observed by Chris Bradley, enjoying his new role as an observer after over 50 years riding trials, great to see you. A double sub in the top stream ended proceedings, Matt Patterson riding well to take the Clubman route top step, Nick H and Kurt Hobson close behind just pipping son and heir Matthew. 

The easy course was keenly contested with second, third and fourth places sorted by most and furthest cleans, ones and twos - very close! Two lady riders of note were Caroline and Emily Ward who looked very stylish over the stream sections, and little Leo Cook on his Oset did manage two laps eventually, still with a big smile at the end. A thoroughly excellent day was had by all, thanks to observers and organisers, next trial 31st May 2pm start. 






NickBumpHard Route: Chris Hunt(Jotagas) 6, Jake Walker(GG) 42, Mick Smith(Sherco) 42

Clubman Route: Matt Patterson(Beta) 10, Nick Hammerton(TLR) 12, Kurt Hobson (Cub) 12.

Easy Route: James Hobson(Shreco) 2, Ernest Bertie(GG) 6, Stuart Balmforth(Montesa) 6.

Pictures: Caroline Ward showing style; Nick Hammerton current leader of The National Twinshock Championship; Jordan Ashington showing off!