Vesty Turns Course Marker for Red Rose Classic

red rose classicTHERE aren't many trials clubs that can boast a three-times World Champion as their course marker - but Red Rose Classic MCC can. The Colne-based club enlisted the help of trials legend Yrjo Vesterinen to plan the sections for their opening round of the year at Pendle Hall Farm.


Vesterinen and fellow club member Chris Riley laid out a demanding four laps of ten sections at the popular Padiham venue, which will be used for Red Rose's round of the National Twin Shock Championship in June. The pair were rewarded with an excellent entry of 68 riders, undeterred by an overnight freeze which saw temperatures plummet to -4C and a heavy frost and there were some famous names in the field, with TT winner Mick Grant and speedway star Eric Boocock out for some post-Christmas exercise. They were joined by other stars of the classic trials scene, including Tony Calvert, Tony Dillon and Mike Rapley.


With no other competitors, Tim Baker and his Ariel had a clear run to win Class A, while Mark Newman dropped just eight marks to claim Class Ae on another Ariel. Garry Shaw and his AJS also had a lone win in Class B with the loss of eight marks.

Red Rose regular Andrew Scott claimed a fiercely-contested Class C on his Cub, just one mark ahead of Tony Calvert, on another Cub, with John Maxfield (Bantam) in third.

Maurice Brayford kept his feet on the pegs all the way round to clean the entire route and win Class Ce from the Bantams of Andrew and Chris Greenbank.


In Class D, Eric Atkinson emerged as winner on his Ambassador, while Chris Gascoigne (Bultaco) topped the 13-strong Twinshock machines in Class T. Second place went to Mick Clarke's quaintly-named Bultatty with Jack Butterworth's Fantic third.


Honda rider Phil Holey was another to clean the entire route to take Class Te, with Adrian Brayshaw pipping Yrjo's daughter Hanna to second place on the Oldest Rider rule.

"It was a great start to the season, and it was good to see some many famous faces out enjoying themselves," said trials secretary Pete Kenyon.

Red Rose's next trial is at Warmden Quarry, between Accrington and Haslingden on February 15. Nearest postcode is BB5 2DL.



Class A: Tim Baker (Ariel) 94.

Class Ae: Mark Newman (Ariel) 8, John Wilson (BSA) 12, Gary Mitchell (Ariel) 17.

Class B: Garry Shaw (AJS) 8.

Class C: Andrew Scott (Cub) 9, Tony Calvert (Cub) 11, John Maxfield (Bantam) 13.

Class Ce: Maurice Brayford (DOT) 0, Andrew Greenbank (Bantam) 2, Chris Greenbank (Bantam) 5.

Class D: Eric Atkinson (Ambassador) 19, Paul Harrison (James) 24.

Class T: Chris Gascoigne (Bultaco) 13, Mick Clarke (Bultatty) 15, Jack Butterworth (Fantic) 15.

Class Te: Phil Holey (Honda) 0, Adrian Brayshaw (Montaski) 13, Hanna Vesterinen (Bultaco) 13.