Ripon 2014 Annual Awards Ceremony

One hundred and three club members and their families assembled at the Millstones Restaurant, Felliscliffe last Saturday for the 2014 awards presentation. Retiring Chairman Keith Blythe, fourteen years  in office, started proceedings by handing over to the new Chairman Nigel Simpson, who thanked Keith for his long service. Acklams Motorcycles , sponsors of the Summer Series Saturday Trials were thanked as were the land owners without whom no Trials could be run. The  Guest of honour, also retiring after a two year stint, Centre President, Stuart Lowther proposed a toast to the club. Mrs. Sandra Lowther kindly presented the Awards later. This was to be their last official function before handing over to the new President at the Yorkshire Centre Annual General Meeting. Peter and Lillian  Fleetham organised an excellent carvery, meal, before the awards were presented. The live three piece band then struck up with the usual energetic dancers strutting their stuff on the dance floor. During the band’s short interval break a raffle was held.


Award Winners Group Photo  Ripon DMC  2014 Awards PresentationL to R: Andy Townson, Nigel Simpson, Neil Richardson, Max Townson, Mick Platts, Oliver Richardson, Jamie Bew, Aldis Blacker,
Elliot Payne, Paul Dennis, Jack Harker, Steve Bradley, Andy Tales, Chris Dale, Joe Tales, Kevin Fleetham, Stephen Dennis.


Awards recipients


Jack Leslie Ellis Trial: Paul Dennis.


Derek Lickers Memorial Trial:

Inter: Richard Shepherd (Stan hall Trophy).

Clubman B:  Michael Platts.


Artie Ratcliffe Vase Trial:

Michael Platts. (Geoff Fletcher Trophy).

Novices: Paul Dennis  (Novice Vase).

Class A: Jack Harker.


Acklams Summer Series.

Novice: Andy Tales (Coverdale Cup).

Second novice: Kevin Fleetham.

1st Over 40: Michael Platts (Star Trophy).

2nd Phillip Hammond.

1st Over 50: Chris Dale (Seniors Trophy).

1st Novices (Green) Stephen Dennis.

2nd: Andy Townson.

1st Twin-Shock: Kevin Morley (Collier Cup.

2nd: Nigel Simpson.

3rd: Norman Shepherd.

1st Beginner: Jamie Bew (W.T. Moss Cup)

2nd Neil Richardson.

1st Youth hard course: Aldis Blacker (Row Trophy)

2nd: Jack Harker.

3rd: Tom Geldart.

1st Youth green course: Joe Tales.

2nd Elliott Payne.

1st Youth easy course: Oliver Richardson (Blythe Trophy).


Acklams Endeavour Award: Max Townson and Freddie Wills


Club awards.

Best Ripon M.C. clubman J.LEllis Trial: Paul Dennis (Victory Cup).

Best Ripon M.C. Restricted trial, Paul Dennis (Whitecliffe Trophy).

Most improved rider 2014: Oliver Richardson (Dadak Trophy).

Basil Lickers Memorial Spade Trophy Dave Gamble & David Carr.


Image & Story: Jack Knoops