Oxford Ixion MCC Club Championship

oxford ixion mccReport Ken O'Brien

A moderate but quality entry of riders contested Ixion's last championship round at a muddy Cox's farm where four laps of ten testing sections were ridden early or late numbers made no difference as the sections changed throughout as the event unfolded.

Will McBain was on a mission and made it all look too easy with a superb clean ride.

Bret Harbud was the best Youth A on 4 with Ryan Tomkins taking the intermediate with a loss of 19.

Ryan had good rides at section 4 where a crowd had gathered to witness this testing section a twenty five yard muddy slot with a couple of ditches to cross for good measure.

Yellow route and Clubman master was Adrian Steele losing a miserly 8 with a perfect score at section one 'Jakes Bush' a tricky bunch of sandy cambers up and around Gorse.

Alan Taylor took second spot on 14 but was best on section five a steep climb over roots then a drop over a large stricken bough before a climb to the end cards.

A fine show of riders took on the White easy route and pre-race favorite Wayne Hutton Triumph Tigercub duly obliged with with a loss of 4 piloting the trusty banger around a testing course that you could certainly describe as a little wet in places.

Steve 'Rambo' McHugh TRS 280 was hot on the heels of Hutton posting a clean last lap but alas not this time losing out by a solitary dab.

Many thanks to all the observers.


Expert                                               Will McBain                                         300 Gasser                                              0

Youth A                                             Bret Harbud                                        Beta 125                                                  4

Inter                                                  Ryan Tomkins                                     300 Beta                                                  19

Yellow Middle Route                         Adrian Steele                                      Beta 250                                                   8

                                                         Alan Taylor                                           Beta 250                                                  14

                                                         Phil Ducker                                          Vertigo 250                                               16

                                                         Brian Tomkins                                      Beta 250                                                   17

White Easy Route                            Wayne Hutton                                       230 Cub                                                    4

                                                         Steve McHugh                                      TRS 250                                                    5

Youth B                                            Freddie Davidson                                  125 Gas Gas                                             8