Oxford Ixion James Challenge Trophy

oxford ixion mccWill McBain 300 Gasser put in a near perfect performance to retain the Expert class win and premiere award 'The James Challenge Trophy' with a loss of one.

Folly Farm Common Wood Beckley was the venue where 4 four laps of ten testing sections were ridden we had steep climbs cambered roots a graded hill muddy slots and sweeping sandy banks with the odd South Midland Rock thrown in for good measure.

This event was an OTC event and included a round of the Meteor Group Series.

Will's only loss occurred at section 8 last lap a sweeping swampy hazard where the wet stuff dragged up the bank making the steep climb and turn somewhat tricky a steadying prod was needed here.

Hot on his heels in the expert class was Berko raider Lennie Tidd 250 Beta waiting for his chance if McBain lapsed his concentration but not this time and had to settle for runner-up spot on three.

Best Intermediate on the 50/50 route was Marcus Haynes over from the Milton Buzzard club three was his total half a dozen ahead of Ixion member Lee Sullivan.

A crowd had gathered in the bottom field as word had got around there could be a stopper section to witness at number four.

Lee was thrown off line here on his first visit by a lurking stump out of sight on the ditch crossing and done well to hold it for anything less than a five hopping himself out of trouble.

Back to winning ways on one mark lost Clubman Alan Taylor took a necessary dab also at section 4 but that was it for a near faultless ride.

In the Twinshock class on the middle route Bultaco 350 pilot Dean Devereux had a great ride for a loss of 4 with an annoying three at his last section of the day number 10.

This wasn't as easy as it looked after a hundred or so bikes had gone though the marshy going was getting dragged further up the bank as more and more spin was required to reach the ends.

Wycombe member Jim Morris pipped Tim Roblett on the most clean tie-break with fourteen marks apiece in the Novice contest which gets his name on the Thistle Anderson Cup for 2019.

The easier white course attracted a good entry with British Twinshock and Modern machinery there was also a 50/50 easy-middle route for championship purposes.

50/50 rider Paul Meader 325 Bultaco lost seven with Alex Ross posting the the Best pre 65 on nine marks.

Alex had the big Royal Enfield on full-chat up the Graded Hill and could be heard echoing through the woods from afar clean as a whistle every attempt.

Gordon Pusey 290 Beta has been making a habit of winning lately and once again topped the leader board with a final card of two.

Gordon took his eye off the ball for a split second at section 6 first lap but held it well over a steep lattice of roots for one of his dabs.

Best Pre 65 on the eased course was Nick James 250 DOT.

Nick was certainly ' Devoid of Trouble ' losing a miserly three a dab at 9 and a couple at sub 10 late on.

David Clarkson 186 Bantam was on his case only a mark adrift but had to settle for second place points today.

Many thanks to all for a good meeting.

Report Ken O'Brien

James Cup Will McBain 300 Gas Gas 1

Expert Lennie Tidd Beta 250 3
Paul Oldfield 250 Gasser 7

Inter Marcus Haynes 250 Beta 3
Lee Sullivan 300 Beta 9

Yellow Middle

Clubman Alan Taylor Beta 250 1
Pat Middlehurst Sherco 250 11
Graham Grove Beta 250 12
Justin Cookson Beta 250 14

Twinshock Dean Devereux 325 Bultaco 4

Novice Jim Morris 300 Beta 14 m/c
Tim Roblett Beta 250 14

White Eased sections

50/50 Paul Meader 325 Bultaco 7
Pre 65 Hard Alex Ross 350 Enfield 9
Wayne Hutton 225 Triumph Cub 13

Standard White

Sportsman Gordon Pusey 290 Beta 2
Brian Ayres 200 Beta 6
Dale Carswell 250 Gasser 21 m/c
Doug Swanson 200 Beta 21

Pre 65 Easy Nick 'Dabber' James 250 DOT 3
Dave Clarkson 188 Bantam 4
Chris Pickup 200 Cub 11
John Eckhart 500 Triumph 33