British Championship Set For Start

Richmond 2013 059-001The start of the British Trials Championships 2014 is almost with us and the series which starts on the 6th April has a new sponsor in The RT Keedwell Group who are a haulage company based in the south west.


Last year in a short four round series saw Michael Brown take his first premier British Title after so many seasons battling with James Dabill. He won the title at the storm drenched Lakes Trial and this event opens up this season's championship which has now been expanded to seven rounds. Both he and Dabill won two rounds each but the tie breaker went to the Gas Gas rider as victor of the final round. Almost as close were third and fourth placed riders Ross Danby and Alexz Wigg. They were only a point apart from each other at the end of the year. Ross started the better with Alexz improving his results at Richmond and the Lakes but it was not quite by enough to get the #3 plate which again went to the Jotagas teamster. Brown and Dabill like most of the top contenders are still out on the same make of machines this season with only Jonathan Richardson swapping mounts. He has moved from Ossa to Beta for 2014.


It is difficult to see anyone touching the top two for series domination but behind them there will be plenty of action for podium places.  Any number of the Championship entry are capable on the day of a good result and there are no less than 26 riders entered including young Jack Price. It will not be too long to find out who is up for it this season.

Looking for the winner in the well supported Expert category is not easy although last year the class was dominated by Cumbrian Darren Brice. No Darren in the entry list this year but interest is still high. Richard Timperley is there as is James Stones, Tom Affleck and Guy Kendrew and he could be one to watch out for. Both number 1 & 2 in the Women's Emma Bristow and Becky Cook are there, sharpening their skill so there is plenty for the spectators to see throughout the whole entry.


The Lakes trial was a welcome addition to the series and has the potential to host a superb event and with a little luck from the British weather that is just what we shall see. The trial will start with the Experts away first at 9.30 am on Sunday and as with last year’s rules there is no Saturday practise.


This season’s dates and organising clubs are shown below although at the time of going to press one or two venues are still under consideration.


Round 1: 6th April. The Lakes BTC Trial organised by LMT. Venue Fell Green, Bootle, Cumbria LA19 5UH


Round 2: 8th June. The Richmond BTC Trial organised by Richmond MC (York) Ltd.  Venue  Low Row, nr Reeth  Sat Nav DL11 6NH      

Round 3: 3rd August. The Yeadon Guiseley BTC Trial organised by Yeadon Guiseley & DMC Ltd . Venue  to be announced               

Round 4: 17th August. The Edinburgh BTC Trial organised by Edinburgh & DMCC.

Round 5: 31st August. The St David's Trial organised by Neath MC. Venue to be announced.

Round 6: 20th Sept. The West of England BTC organised by West of England MC. Venue Kelly Farm, Lustleigh, South Devon. Postcode TQ13 9SW

Round 7: 21st Sept. The Rene Pearce Memorial Trial organised by Torridge & DMCC.  Venue Brousentor Farm, Peter Tavy, Tavistock, Devon.