C15c On Evilbay

alan

Hi,

Calling all BSA experts, thinking about building another pre 65 trials bike,

would the C15C make a good starting point?

Seems to have been designed as a scrambler,(looks like a stronger frame than the road bikes) so i guess had higher compression and a bigger cam ?

I'm no BSA expert but for what it's worth I really wouldn't bother with that bike as a starting point for a Pre65 trials bike. The engine and gears may be totally unsuitable for trials use, the frame does look big and heavy (or heavier, the original C15 frame is no lightweight...) I think it would take a lot of modifying and a lot of what you buy would end up scrapped and replaced with more suitable components.

First things that come to mind are:

- Modifying the frame to increase the ground clearance which means raising the bottom frame tubes and the engine mounts

- Lowering the rear subframe assembly by cutting off the seat frame tubes/rear loop, removing a couple of inches or so out of the uprights to the shocks and then welding the seat tubes/frame loop back on again in a lower position to get lowered seat height.

The frame mods don't sound much but it takes a fair bit of work to do it, I've just done something similar with my C15

- Removing all unecessary lugs and brackets

- Scrapping the big hubbed chrome rimmed wheels for something more suitable

- Scrapping the forks which are rusty and no good anyway even if they weren't

- Scrapping all the electrics and fitting a PVL

- Scrapping the shocks for trials units

- Scrapping the oil tank and seat for items suitable for trials

Probably more that doesn't come immediately to mind.

So assuming you get it for the starting price of

That sounds like sensible advice to me.