Minor Set-back

alan_nc

So I'm riding through a section this past Saturday and hear a light rattle sound from the front of the engine ('74 TY250). Shut her down and just turning it over with the kick starter could hear metal parts moving around loose.

I have pulled the engine apart and found a broken ring, small end bearing with a lot of slop and a cir clip missing. The ring caught in a port and broke the ring land so the piston is trash. Found no metal parts inside the engine - don't know if they went out the exhaust or down into the case. I have washed the cases out several times with kerosene (then turned the engine over to drain it out). Nothing has come out - pieces wise. Bore wasn't scored. Crank and rod look O.K., from what I can see. I have pulled both side cases and see no problems in either. Drained oil from trans and it was clear.

I have been riding the bike for a couple of months but prior to that it sat for several years. May have had some rust build up in the bearings during that time.

Have located and ordered all of the replacement parts needed.

Would appreciate any comments or suggestions from the group.

Thanks

Alan

Bo,

Yes I did turn the muffler up-side-down and tap (could be stuck to all the gunk inside). Crank turns over easily with no noise, no hard spots.

I will "burn" the muffler prior to reassembly.

Don't you sometimes wish you had the answer to why something happened?

Thanks for the ideas.

Alan

Breaking a ring is relatively common in YZ and IT Yamahas but that's the first I have heard in a TY250A. I am interested in the failure mechanism in your bike. Here are some things to check that might help work out what happened: