2016 OSET 16.0 anyone know how many volts the controller can withstand?

I recently purchased from Facebook marketplace a 2010 OSET 16  24v. I think? The controller has a born on date of 2010.

I bought a 48-72v step down to 24v 40a converter. I use a ego 56v batteries which can put out 50amps. It works fantastic, with a little better performance then stock due to lithium battery. 

My question is, is there anyone with experience putting more volts to the controller then 24v? Looking to get a little more out of it's performance. 

Thank you again for all the support. I didn't even think I would get an answer. I got a discussion! Gonna stick with what it is setup as now. Hope he hits a growth spurt soon. 

Edited by eddieocean227

I have zero experience with Osets, but can you open the controller and have a look inside?  

The DC link capacitors (large electrolytics) will have a voltage rating written on them.  The power MOSFETs will have a part number that you can search to find a datasheet that will specify its maximum voltage.  In both cases, you want to have a safety margin between their ratings and your maximum operating voltage.  The closer you cut the safety margin, the worse the long-term reliability.

You can buy electronic speed controls (ESCs) for electric bicycles very inexpensively.

What does the tag on your motor say?   Attached is the tag from a little Oset motor and what it says for power is all it can handle.  I'm guessing the motor you have indicates a voltage range and not a fixed voltage?  ... & are we seriously talking about souping up a kids electric scooter 🤔 that usually means it is time for a full size motorcycle.

osetmotor.jpeg

Thank you for the advice. I will open it up and see what the capacitor says. I have a son how is on the small side but big ability. Bike size fits him well. Motor size he could handle the 24 

He has razor dirt bikes fitted with much higher voltage and watts. 

Thank you again