Front hopping - 2002 Pro to 2006 Raga...

waynerobshaw

Hi Chaps,

Just wondering if anyone has any thoughts on something that bothering me since I've upgraded from a 2002 250 Pro to a 2006 300 Raga with a 2009/2010 frame (legit - all bought direct from GG). I've long been practising hopping the front end and recently started to make some subtle progress on the 2002 pro (I'm no expert obviously!). I recently bought a 2006 300 Raga (yes I know its a powerful bike for a non-expert, but I find the power delivery smoother than the 250) and I'm now finding hopping the front a lot more difficult. My technique still needs a lot of work (I'm still using more arms and shoulders than legs), but I did find the balance and front lift a lot easier on the old 2002.

My question is, is this to be expected from a Raga? Is the front suspension a lot more "hardcore" on a Raga than a standard Pro and therefore more difficult to perform hops on for someone of my standard? I know the 2006 Raga does have different front suspension than the pro of the same year:

2006 Raga Suspension

It seems a lot stiffer than the old 2002. I was also thinking if the forks may need servicing, so I'd be interested anyone with the similar bike found their Raga to stiffer than a standard Pro.

At the moment, I'm concidering if the new Raga was a good move. That said, everything else is spot on.

Maybe I just need more time with the bike to adjust? The Raga does also have the 2009/2010 frame so maybe I'm not used to the geometry of the bike yet?

Anyone any wisdom when switching between a Pro and a Raga?

Cheers,

Wayne.

Edited by waynerobshaw