Helmet Horrors!

motomax

I have been using an NZI Carbon fibre helmet for several years now. The bugger has developed a nasty odor that seems to be fermenting like a fine aged cheese. I have used Helmet deodorants and occasionallly wash it out but the smell comes right back. I would like to find a replacement liner for it if possible. Anyone have any experience with finding a liner to fit the NZI?

I know there are several trials helmets that come with removable liners but no one seems to know if you can buy an extra liner. I may choose to buy a new helmet with a removable liner, but only if I can get spare liners for it.

Any advise, ideas etc.....is welcome.

Ride slow.....take chances.

Several years!! I sure don't want to be in a queue near you at the local trial. I suppose it is one way of getting to the front :rolleyes:

Hey "copemech" you sure must look a picture at your local swimming baths striding out in your "SPEEDO'S" sporting your stinking "NZI". You think this helps, personally I think you need to seek help !! ;):)

I have had 2 NZI's, good helmets, but non removable lining is a problem, tried the bath routine, left it soaking etc. none relly work solve the problem short term, but not long term

Now bought myself a "PREMIER" helmet, so I can take the lining out, only worn it twice so cannot be the judge, yet of whether a good idea or not but bought it on recommendation.

So Mr MotoMax treat yourelf to a new helmet, that might even double up as a bathing cap !!!!!

I have used the (Lym?) spray foam for several years on boots, gloves, shin pads and helmets. Works great, especiallyt on keeping gloves soft and not abrasive. However, now with 2 kids, 3 sets of all gear uses an $11 can about every second or third riding. Began too cost more than replacing the gear, so I am saving the spray for the gloves.