Ahhh Smell Of Castrol R...

boner

Here we go... love it or hate it?

I'm currently running Castrol TTS but was told that a teaspoonful of Castrol R in the mix will give you the classic 2 stroke smell, without the associated running problems.

I'm off to make the woodlands smell nicer...

Boner.

Here we go... love it or hate it?

I'm currently running Castrol TTS but was told that a teaspoonful of Castrol R in the mix will give you the classic 2 stroke smell, without the associated running problems.

I'm off to make the woodlands smell nicer...

Boner.

I think that you'll find that they don't make Castrol R anymore. I may be wrong of course but if I remember correctly then there is an alternative which smells the same.....

Be very careful with Castrol R .....as I remember it doesn't MIX with anything else.

I'm not an expert on "R" but it is a vegetable based oil. R40 is basically Castrol R nowadays.

A friend of mine pours a capful into his B40 fuel tank i.e. mixed with the petrol, just to give it the distinctive aroma, but he uses mineral based oil in the oil tank.

Racers used "R" as the main lubricant but it can sludge an engine up. It was only recommended for use when racing engines were stripped down regularly to replace rings and be overhauled due to the normal than usual wear caused under racing conditions and if left in an unused motor for any considerable length of time it would sludge.

Big John

Hi Guy's

Tony is right. DONT mix Castrol "R" with any mineral based oil, or synthetic or you will be in big trouble. Putting some in with the petrol is also a nightmare waiting to happen.

If you do use veggi based oil it is fine on its own, but will need changing very freqentley, But the smell is Great Aye.

Regards Charlie.