Another Newbie In Wyoming/colorado

qcowboy

Howdy Gang!

I just read Judson's intro here, so it seems I'm not the only new rider along the Front Range. I live near Laramie, just across the state line from Fort Collins. I'm an absolute newbie to trials, and I have yet to attend an event.

My introduction to trials was, lets say, rough. A wonderful couple, Will and Jen, from Woodland park brought a couple trials bikes to a weekend gathering of adventure riders in the forest near Buena Vista, Colorado. They welcomed us all to try out the trials bikes, and set up some simple obstacles for us to practice on. After gaining confidence riding over small logs and stumps, I decided I could tackle the "trojan rabbit", a man-made obstacle/torture device, designed to lure newbies to their demise.

Well, as you can imagine, after having a number of new riders trying them, those two trials bikes got dropped a few times that day. By the time I was ready to try the trojan rabbit, the throttle on one bike was getting sticky from the grit that had worked its way inside. I hit the rabbit, came off the pegs as I went over, and the sticky throttle took the bike right out from under me. The now riderless bike shot across the campground until it was tackled by an unlucky tent. The tent fabric wrapped up into the back tire. And wrapped around again. And again. Ultimately, we had to cut the tent fabric away to free the back wheel of the trials bike, and I bought myself a slightly used tent!

The most humiliating part of the experience came afterward, when I learned that not one, but two cameras had caught the whole incident on film. One of the other newbie riders that day made up a film montage of my foibles, and a few of his own, and posted them on Youtube to torture me for eternity: