Flash?

Guest gasgastxtpro

Guest gasgastxtpro

When taking photos at trials is it recommended to not use flash as it will put riders off?

Im not sure as i have no personal experience of trials photography.

Any help greatly appreciated

:wall: Rich :o

Think of it this way - would a flash gun going off in your face put you off when concentrating in the middle of a difficult section?

YES I suspect you will answer.!

I have seen a good rider i know very well fiving a section at the Scottish because of a flashgun going off directly in his eyes. I would have put money on him cleaning the section. lets just say he was not very happy - initially blaming me since i was takinga picture at the time (not by flash I hasten to add!)

Although it is a different sport there are always warnings given at the TT Races in the Isle of Man NOT to use flash guns since they can put off riders. Marshalls at all points round the course are directed to 'tell off' miscreants.

This is something I fell strongly about - although you will often see 'professional' photographers at trials using flash - in my opinion this is just bad positioning on there part. They doin't need to take photos in a section where the light is too bad to require flash.

Hi,

Having worn the press bib at trials many a time I have to say I always used flash. Even on the brightest of days.

Positioning is crucial to avoid causing problems for the riders and for the most part trials photographers are aware of this, only the most arrogant will cause problems. In general I think you won't get very many complaints from the riders.

Generally, if the flash is in line of sight for the rider then it will be a problem, otherwise not.

At TT Races and so on I can only assume it's much more of a safety issue that flash is frowned upon. At worst, at a trial you might get a complaint from a rider.....at a TT you might get a death. Big difference and quite rightly so.