To Beta Or Not To Beta?

pinchflat

I am currently looking for my first trials bike. My experience with motorcycle trials is nil. However I have been Downhill mountain biking for years now and have ridden MX & ATVs off and on for years now.

I have found a '99 Beta for sale locally that looks to be in great condition. I was wondering if this bike would suit me? I am looking for something I can learn on and keep for a few years.

Since I'm new at this I don't want to be stuck with something that is crap or way out dated.

Any help, direction or suggestions would be great.

thanks

-PF

Pinchflat...that would be a great bike to own...BUT..the only thing I would say is..buy the newest bike that you can afford, regardless of what make it is. If the Beta is the best/newest you can afford...then go for it.

Its AMAZING how much better the new trials bikes feel every year...having said that..the 99 is still a very capable bike..particularly for learning on.

Good luck! :ph34r:

Pinchflat - I ran a '99 Techno 250 for 4 years which I bought second-hand, but in "as new" condition. Apart from an early problem with the electric "generator" (not sure what the proper name for it was) which needed replacing (common fault and expensive), I had absolutely no bother with it at all and it was ultra-reliable (in fact I've had more bother with my 04 Gas Gas in 1 year than I had with the Beta in nearly 4)

Although a little heavier than the latest bikes a 99 Techno is still perfectly capable of competing at most levels.

The Betas have the advantage of a removable flywheel weight which you could leave on whilst getting to "grips" (pun intended) with trials riding and take off later if you want some more "zip".

All Betas suffer from an itermittent carb leak problem (this can be fixed via a mod -see the Beta forum) - just don't stop the motor whilst bike is pointing downhill or you'll get a sweat on trying to re-start it!

I agree with the advice about local dealers.