How Hard?

fastbelly

Hi, I have a question about the SSDT, as an enduro rider I have no problem with the between section going or endurance. My question is, how hard are the sections? I have ridden trials on and off since I was 17, now 50, I now ride trials, both twin shock and modern at clubman level, was expert level in my 20's. I don't mind a struggle. Are most sections ridable for an above average club rider?

This trial is on my bucket list.

Many thanks in advance

Glenn

Hi Fastbelly

Ive ridden the SSDT 3 times so im no expert on this but have dabbled.

The sections are not a walk in the park. They are considerably more difficult than the Normandale rounds i have ridden. A few sections are easy , but most are challenging.

Your fitness is really important. If you have crap fitness you will suffer and by day 3 start to seize up.

I know its billed up as a clubman event.........but that depends what club you belong to.

If your used to riding rocks all day long then you have an advantage. If your a bit overweight, dont ride rocks often and dont do fitness........then shikes !!!!. Its going to be a tough week.

Do not underestimate it. Its a hard event for typical clubman riders.........so get training , jogging etc and get your entry in asap.

I rode it for 12 or 13 years and loved it but it was hurting my Knees (cold and wet and no seat) so I felt I had had my fun up there. I had one retirement - bike overheating problems.

The best thing is to go and watch the event and chat to other riders, and choose a bike that is reliable.

my best bikes I rode were Yamaha monos and TYZ and two years on fantics,they were quicker on the road which gave me more time in the sections (you have to get a move on)

I have seen riders who find it too hard but they still enjoy it and to finish is an achievement! GO FOR IT.

Steve.