What Thickness Metal?

bultoboy

silly question but a a complete novice to metal work so here goes............I am making some brackets up to fit my trials chair to a bike. what thickness of steel should I use to make the brackets? I am learning to mig weld and can just about do steel so stainless and ali are out of the question for now.

No idea what is normally used on such and will depend upon year of bike and frame design accordingly. Might contact MRS for help or examples, yet if you can barely weld with Mig, you may be well advised to stay off this and find yourself a decent Tig welder as needed before you botch it up!

Good money spent there!

Does tig make for an easier/better weld?

I am looking to put the chair on a 159 bultaco or a 301 fantic.

I want to do all fabrication and welding myself as you will never learn by paying for some one to do it for you.

its harder to tig weld I think but tig welding is stronger than mig I can weld biut totally agree with bultoboy there is going to be a lot of strain on these welds and although the weld may look ok it could be more so a surface weld.

surface weld is where the weld is on the surface and not melted or eaten in to the two pieces of metal.

the weld may look ok but it will be as much use as a chocolate t pot.

also consider the brackets are going to be quite thick and don't attempt if your not using at least a 180amp mig or you will be wasting your time anything under

this ampage just wont get hot enough for the welds on the thickness of metal used .

hope this helps

As again I have no idea just how this is normally done by others, but I would find examples if I were you. I would think some type of clamp-on brackets may be preferable as trials frames are thin wall metal, and a large bracket welded to it may just pull right out of the base material.

And yes, the Tig offers much better control and a better outcome if done properly.

Edited by copemech