Flywheel Puller

ginger_ninja54

Does anyone know what thread the inside of the flywheel is on my 95 gasgas contact 250?

need to get the flywheel off to adjust timing, and am hoping to make a flywheel puller to get it off.

looks to be about 26-27mm, metric fine? left hand?

YES! i know i could prob buy one for a tenner, but as well as being an engineer by trade, and therefore i enjoy making stuff i can use, i am also exceptionally tight!!

can't get pitch gauges in to check cos of the crank

any ideas anyone?

(a yam/honda/suzuki one don't fit, that's LH thread, but dont know what size.)

cheers!

77 views, and no-one got any ideas yet??!!!

Edited by Ginger_Ninja54

didnt have a good day friday i take it. saw you changing plugs and stuff. my mate says you went over the handlebars and started booting the bike. happens to us all. i got round on a 0 might have to move up :ph34r:

I have a 96 and 2000. After searching many sources, I could not find a generic and had to buy from GG. Price wasn't bad, just took two weeks to get it.

kcj

From my notes file:

Flywheel hub puller. Most Yamaha use 27 x 1.0 mm LH thread, external on tool, internal on flywheel.

GasGas appears to be 27 x 1.0 RH thread, external tool, internal wheel.

I forgot to add: given the price of flywheels and crankshafts, I would be very cautious about matching the thread. I am seriously 'financially limited', but many times figure I cannot afford to go the 'cheap' route as it costs too much in the long run!

Usually its a time issue that I build or modify a tool.

k

my mate says you went over the handlebars and started booting the bike

wasnt the best day in most respects, but still had an enjoyable one.

i did go a bit heavy on the front brake on my first section (3) (much,much more effective than my beta brakes!!), and had to abandon ship! but the only use of my boots was on the kick start!

All seems a great deal of hassle though to save very little money