Bigger Logs/drums - How?

Hi guys

I can make it over a single free standing drum but im not sure if the technique is right. Im trying the double blip thing, first one puts front tire on drum, second one I throw weight forward to pull back onto drum. I do try to bounce the rear wheel up just befor the second blip to help. Have I got the basics right? I am riding the bash plate over the drum and it doesnt feel graceful, more like just powering the bike over.

Keep in mind im brand new to trials and have only been riding for about a month (2weeks of that has been waiting for torn ligaments in the ankle to heel).

post-18493-0-54253100-1370241972_thumb.jpg

Hi, first blip should put the front Tyre into the drum making the forks compress. Then as soon as they compress the second blip comes in pushing the front into the air with the baseplate completely clearing the drum. These two blips happen really quickly and close together. Remember to bend at the knees and stay loose on the bike.

Hope this helps.

• Like 1

As Mr Wobble said

Drive the front wheel into the drum. Rule of thumb drive the front wheel 75% up the face of the obstacle.

This will load the front end and force the skid plate and bike upwards.

Placing or just skimming the front wheel on the top of the barrel will do nothing for you but driving the skid pan into the obstacle.

In the picture you seem to be keeping pressure on the back wheel and the back wheel is flat on the ground. That says your are not unloading the rear suspension or bending your legs/knees.

Edited by billyt

For small-ish stuff like that, I like to raise the front wheel a bit higher and let it drop almost on top of the obstacle, this compresses both ends and the 2nd blip carries me over without hitting the plate (mostly...well...sometimes).

I have to be moving a bit slower than with the method of driving the wheel into the obstacle, but I find it smoother when I get it right.