Traction Control Useful?

mcman56

I'm tempted to buy a new 2022 EM and see they have a couple trials models.  I have ridden an epure race and liked it but am not sure I would ever use the clutch.  Has anyone ridden the other model with traction control?  Is the traction control useful?  I'm no beginner but no expert either?

I have not ridden a 2022, with traction control, so I can't speak to that aspect of your question. However, I do have a 2021 "Race" with a clutch. Having ridden the bike for a little over a year, I can say that there is little to no reason to have the clutch, unless you are a very advanced rider. Unless you have need to rev the motor to high RPM, before a sudden clutch release, to leap up onto a rock, etc. then you don't need it. In fact, for tight and technical sections, full-lock turns, etc. the advantage is the fact that you don't use the clutch. It demands that you develop a greater level of throttle control, but the ability to ride the bike using throttle alone is amazing.

So, unless you a a high-level, accomplished, trials rider, it is a safe bet you would be happy going with a lower spec model sans clutch, traction control, tickover, etc.

• Like 1

This may ( and then obviously may not) be of interest as not specifically related to electric trials bikes

About 20 years ago I was on a test trip and one evening in the hotel we ended up talking about my motorcycle trials and the engine management guys believed they could  engineer a simple traction control system but there are several points to consider

1. As an internal combustion engine with no electronic control of airflow, via throttle or slide, it could only be spark based, simply instantaneously cutting or retarding spark.