30th Jan 2010 - Spen Valley or Horsforth? Times?

jonabonospen

I am looking to maybe have a go at trials riding and was pointed in the direction of the Spen Valley trial and the Horsforth trial both on this Sunday (30th) to go have a watch of what it is like. Been on both club websites to find details but it doesn't say anything about start times or anything. As a spectator what time is best to turn up? I dont want to turn up early and be stood around waiting while things are set up or whatever as I will have my little nephew with me and he will be getting restless just waiting and not watching bikes. So when is best to turn up? Also which do people think would be better for a total novice to go watch, Horsforth or Spen Valley? I understand the Horsforth one is a Beginner and Novice trial which I thought would give me a good idea of the things I could potentially be attacking early on, but dont know what the Spen Valley trial is in terms of novice or difficult etc. Spen Valley is closest but want to try see something relevant to what I could be doing.

The Horsforth trial starts at 11am at Deer park & the Spen Valley trial starts at 12 at Cliffe Lane, Cleckheaton, I'd say you're probably best to turn up when the trial has just started or maybe 10 mins before hand. I Think both trial's will be quite similar but as you say the Horsforth one is a novice & beginner which may give you a good idea of a starting point.

Edited by BenBeta23

Ok Spen valley is at the more compact course of the 2. So not as far to walk around. If you aim to get there for the start time then the riding kicks off pretty much on time so no hanging around for the young un. Spen is a combined results trial the easy route would be harder than that in an beginner trial but will be a better watch than easier beginner sections. The hard course will be stiff and will make for better viewing than novice course.