Please Help Someone!

zoup2nuts

Hello, I posted a question asking for help in eliminating an oil leak that is coming from the bottom of the oil-level sight glass. It appears to be leaking from a rubber ring the glass is probably pressed into. The glass is worthless anyhow, would there be any chance a rubber plug could be glued in in place of the sight-glass and I wouldn't have to remove the left-side cover.

My other question is what might it entail taking the cover off and replacing the ring or seal (whichever it is)? Am I going to encounter a gasket when I take the cover off and have to deal with that too?

At first I didn't think it was losing that much, but I'm now thinking differently...thanks for any help...Bob

p.s. I've had 146 views, but no answers on my last post...

Gday, Im no Fantic expert but -

You could probably seal it externally with "3 Bond" and save the hassle of removing the cover. Clean it very well first with Brake cleaner or similar. There will be a gasket behind the cover, so plan on that if you do replace it. Is there a chance you can measure the sight glass and then compare to say one from a kawasaki. Most of these things are built like an oil seal on the outside and so are similar in dimension to source a replacement. A Rubber plug wouldn't be a good choice as the oil will perish it and you would end up with a leak bigger than what you have now.

HTH,

Cheers,

Stork

Thanks Stork,

I thought of using an oil/heat resistant silicone, guess it wouldn't harm anything if it doesn't work. I'm reluctant to take off the cover and maybe create something worse than I now have...the darned thing runs very strong right now...just that unsightly leak...I recently drained and measured the oil and put it back in so I could do the same and compare after a few hours of riding to see just how much I'm losing. I know it doesn't take much to look like a lot...Bob

Hi Zoup2nuts,