Adjusting rider position on a 72 MAR

yellow_cad

Right now I have a pretty much stock 72 MAR. It has what appears to be a stock four inch high bar and stock foot pegs. I am new to trials but I believe that I want to be slightly more erect. I have read it suggested to move the pegs down appx. three inches (weld plate to frame) for a lower center of gravity, but I have also been told that it is better to raise the handle bars instead and leave the peg height stock to maintain clearance to the side of the skid plate. Any suggestions whether to go up (raise handle bars), or down (lower pegs), or both would be appreciated. I do plan to modernize the pegs (wider and springs), but wanted to get the whole picture before going one way or the other on the improvements. Also would appreciate any recommendation as to height changes. Right now I'm not too sure if two inches is enough or three inches is too much. I am around six foot and pretty much average for that height. Is there any type of formula that I can use in getting at least a good static position?

These bikes (most 70s bikes) used to come with bars that were around 7 or 8" high, which is why the riding position didn't feel wrong. Plus we were a lot younger then and young bones and joints wouldn't have noticed if it did. The pegs were always set high as that is what was thought right back then to keep them clear of obstacles. Also, riding styles back then were different and with the higher pegs the bike was easier easier to move around on in the no-stop style. A good illustration of that is to watch Dave Thorpe in the video clip of the 1976 Superstars trial on the front page.

Now, the style is to stand in the bike and remain upright rather than move around, as the bikes are more point and squirt and hop the wheels to turn.