Advice For New 250Sy Owner

wizzbang

Not only am I new to the bike 250SY 2003 model, I'm new to trials and 2 strokes.

I'm just after some pointers...kind of a do's and don'ts of owning and maintaining the bike.

The bike as it is has been looked after by it's previous owners, and I want to continue that trend.

Is there anything specific to that model that I need to be aware of ?

Also what about the fuel/oil mixture....the previous owner said that he ran it 50:1 as he felt uncomfortable running it any different (old boy with a couple of old twin shocks in his garage) should I continue with that mixture or make it more in line with what I have been reading on these forums (80:1)

In short anything that owners of this model should know

Ta

Welcome to The Scorpa world. I have an 08 and love it. There's not an awful lot of difference between the 2003 and my 08. Graphics of course, and I believe the engines got a little faster in the later years, that could be due to lighter flywheels. I'm not sure.

A lot of guys think the Yamaha engine is old fashioned and heavy, but I've loved mine. They last and hold up well over time. My Scorpa has been ridden in a Trials event almost every month since I got it in apring of 08. It took 2nd place out of 6 guys in the Intermediate class last Saturday (got beat by four points for first). I think it's well suited for most riders, easy to ride and rock solid.

That's one of the problems I'm having with some of newer bikes from the other manufacturers. They are getting so minimal that after a year or two they are getting pretty ragged. I guess that's fine if a guy's rich and can afford a new bike every year, but unfortunately I'm not. I usually ride a bike for ten years. I just bought an almost new 2002 Montesa Cota for my son for the same reason. It too has longevity and holds up, and like the Yamana engine in the Scorpa you can't beat that Honda engine in the Montesa.