Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Beta Rev 3 Won't Kick Start Properly


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 lordii

lordii

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Location:Cornwall
  • Bike:Beta rev 3 2000

Posted 07 May 2012 - 10:53 AM

I know this topic has probaly been spoken about before but..!!
I have a beta rev 3, year 2001 i think.
I bought this bike over a year ago and havnt been able to ride it due to transport so its been sat in the shed. Now i have transport ive taken the bike out the once.
But it takes like 30+ kicks or so to start the bike, this is my first bike so maybe my kicking isn't so good, ive had a mate try kicking also and it just wont go.
The more kicks the bike seems to try and start, start and cut out, and then finally will start.
Ive read checking carb jets, spark plugs and air filter could be the issue.
Any help would be great, cheers.


Ads By Google User is online

Ads By Google
  • Ad Bots


Don't want these Ads? Why not help support TC and sign up as a Trials Central Supporter?

#2 ham2

ham2

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,259 posts
  • Location:N.E. England - Rund Wor Way
  • Bike:Sherco 290-05
  • Club:Jurreh Sinclurs.... Pheonix

Posted 07 May 2012 - 11:42 AM

Ow do Lordii,
You'll get more response if you post this query in the dark under-world :unsure: called; the Beta forum.

Mr. Moderator, work your magic.....
Wayne
For the last time...it's not 'SUPPOSED' to have a seat.
There are two types of men in this world:-
1) Those who are Geordies and..
2) Those that want to be.

#3 tltel

tltel

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 535 posts
  • Location:KENT
  • Bike:tlr200 tl125 gg 350
  • Club:folkestone trials

Posted 07 May 2012 - 05:48 PM

HI
If its been sat around in a shed for a year, you will have to get rid of the fuel thats in the tank and clean out the carb. put fresh petrol mix in and it will probably be fine.
TLTEL

#4 pindie

pindie

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 840 posts
  • Location:South East Wales
  • Bike:2007 Beta Rev3 200
  • Club:Heavy wooden one

Posted 07 May 2012 - 07:41 PM

Fresh fuel defo. New plug won't hurt either.
Staying calm always helps. Science always wins.

#5 skippy1234

skippy1234

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 84 posts
  • Bike: ty250/techno 250

Posted 07 May 2012 - 08:01 PM

hi there,if you transport it with the fuel on ,you will flood it like i used too and it will take forever to start-only my input tho

#6 pindie

pindie

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 840 posts
  • Location:South East Wales
  • Bike:2007 Beta Rev3 200
  • Club:Heavy wooden one

Posted 09 May 2012 - 07:47 PM

Try draining the carb. Then add fresh fuel?

You could also take the plug out and kick over to clear the barrel.
Staying calm always helps. Science always wins.

#7 grumpyoldman

grumpyoldman

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 41 posts
  • Location:East sussex
  • Bike:Beta Rev 3 250
  • Club:GEST Hastings and Eastbourne & District MC

Posted 10 May 2012 - 07:20 AM

I put STP carb cleaner in my KTM tank for the winter and then take it out for a quick blat as I am a fair weather road rider and it keeps the carbs nice and clean with no running problems.

Not so relevant here but it does clean the innards up a bit.
2007/8 KTM 950SM, 2003 Yamaha WR450, 2003 Beta Rev 3 250

#8 pindie

pindie

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 840 posts
  • Location:South East Wales
  • Bike:2007 Beta Rev3 200
  • Club:Heavy wooden one

Posted 10 May 2012 - 07:29 PM

The KTM runs on neat Carb Cleaner?
Staying calm always helps. Science always wins.

#9 grumpyoldman

grumpyoldman

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 41 posts
  • Location:East sussex
  • Bike:Beta Rev 3 250
  • Club:GEST Hastings and Eastbourne & District MC

Posted 11 May 2012 - 11:19 AM

The KTM runs on neat Carb Cleaner?


It's probably cheaper than petrol :D

Just in case someone thinks it does - No it doesn't.
2007/8 KTM 950SM, 2003 Yamaha WR450, 2003 Beta Rev 3 250

#10 stevenbeta200cc

stevenbeta200cc

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Location:cumbria

Posted 19 July 2012 - 05:38 PM

hi,im new to this sort of thing but im abit bafflaled i have a beta rev3 200cc (2000) i have had the stator redone and there is loads ov spark and plenty ov fuel getting to the plug but it still will not start any help or anwser its annoying me :,(.

thanks stev


Ads By Google User is online

Ads By Google
  • Ad Bots


Don't want these Ads? Why not help support TC and sign up as a Trials Central Supporter?

#11 pindie

pindie

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 840 posts
  • Location:South East Wales
  • Bike:2007 Beta Rev3 200
  • Club:Heavy wooden one

Posted 20 July 2012 - 08:40 PM

Take the plug out and put a new one in.

Reed valve ok?

Compression ok?

Carb fitted ok?
Staying calm always helps. Science always wins.

#12 dan williams

dan williams

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,248 posts
  • Location:North Reading Mass USA
  • Bike:'13 EVO
  • Club:NETA, Seacoast Trials Club, East Coast Hoppers

Posted 25 July 2012 - 01:15 AM

Needs a set of rings. It may seem to run OK once it's going but throw a set of rings in and it will seem like a whole new bike.

#13 stevenbeta200cc

stevenbeta200cc

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Location:cumbria

Posted 23 August 2012 - 05:02 PM

my bike was rebuilt not that long ago it has lodes of spark and lodes of fuel getting to the plug i'v bought?
1.new stator rewind.
2.new CDI box. witch aren't cheep.
3.new ht lead.
4.new reeds.
5.new stop button.
6.new plug.
and it still will not start any answers or solutions does anyone no the carb setting because i think i might be over fueling if that would stop it from running?.
thanks stev

#14 pindie

pindie

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 840 posts
  • Location:South East Wales
  • Bike:2007 Beta Rev3 200
  • Club:Heavy wooden one

Posted 24 August 2012 - 11:13 AM

Where are you based Steve? Someone might be able to pop by if they know where you are?
It could be something as daft as a sticking float which is flooding it.
Staying calm always helps. Science always wins.

#15 stevenbeta200cc

stevenbeta200cc

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Location:cumbria

Posted 05 September 2012 - 07:08 PM

do you know anyone selling or sells stator plate. just the plate do not want the stator as well for a beta 200cc 2000model because i took it to a garage and the stator plate is cracked and apparently it is sending the timing to cock and iv rang beta uk and they do not make them anymore for this model thanks stev




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users