Shocking Help With A Beta's Paioli

nzralphy

Hi All

I'm considering rebuilding my rear shock ('07 Beta Rev3 270).

I had the Paioli shock off the other day to replace a bottom bearing and while it was off i noticed that without the spring attached the shock would go quickly through half of it's stroke. It did this with and air sucking sound. At approx the half travel point it felt that oil was encountered and the damping firmed up nicely. Allowing the shock to extend was the same but in reverse (obviously) - slow than fast with air sucking.

The rebound adjuster at the top of the shock has no effect on damping. The bike will easily bottom out on minor hollows between sections even when being very light on the bike.

Am i right does it need attention or are the above normal?

........I know i could send the shock off to the appropriate guy for the appropriate attention. But I'm an engineer and am happy to tackle anything. Soooooo.....

Has anyone taken a Paioli apart and how?

Any tips?

What weight oil would you recommend?

How is the nitrogen charged and at what pressure?

Thanks, Ralphy

Beta offers an exchange on the rear shock were they have rebuilt used shocks, it's cheaper than buying a new one. I know you want to rebuild your own shock so check into the cost of the tools to do the rebuild may change your mind. Ask your local dealer to check with the importer for the tools or rebuilt shock.

Beta offers an exchange on the rear shock were they have rebuilt used shocks, it's cheaper than buying a new one. I know you want to rebuild your own shock so check into the cost of the tools to do the rebuild may change your mind. Ask your local dealer to check with the importer for the tools or rebuilt shock.