M199b Questions

bultacosteve

This is my first post on this forum but I have been viewing the topics on the board for about a year. I own several Bultaco's and I am very knowledgeable about the brand and many of the models they produced. I have been riding an M159 Sherpa for the past 5 years in vintage events. This past year I have been using it in the vintage class but we ride junior type sections. Myself and the other vintage riders find the junior sections more than manageable on the older bikes. Last year I got an M199B sherpa t and I am just now finishing off the restoration. I use that term rather loosely as all I have done is blast and paint the frame, new tires, new cables, brakes, and all engine internals have been replaced. I have fitted a Mikuni flatslide and have it dialed in very nicely In any case one of the problems I have with the Sherpa models is how long the wheelbase is. I have read several articles on swingarm placement and I am aware of how critical it is but nobody has ever really commented on the tiller like effect that the front end of these bikes have. Basically from the M158 series right to the end of production the bikes were designed at a time when long rocky climbs were the norm. Thus making a long stable wheelbase very desirable. And here in western Canada we do have lots of rocky sections where the sherpa will really show its true colors and perform the way it was intended. However riding the bike in the modern junior class I find that it doesn't have the turning ability that I would like. I am thinking that I would like to take the front end off of a M116 Alpina. This would effectively reduce the wheel base by about 25-30mm. Has anybody out there tried doing this?. Also has anyone tried to actually change the steering geometry on their Sherpa by either making their own frame or removing the steering stem on the frame and welding it a degree or two steeper. I wouldn't say that the Sherpa isn't a quick turner ..... it is, its just that